Gluten Sensitivity

Gluten Sensitivity

Oats Are Gluten Free!

Oats are a great gluten free substitute. Oats naturally do not contain gluten. 

Per FDA and European Union regulations Oats are classed as “Gluten Free” since they meet the criteria of containing less than 20 ppm (parts per million) of gluten.

Despite the FDA and EU criteria, local authorities in Ecuador request we use a legend in oats that reads “contains gluten” reasoning traces of gluten falling well below the less than > 20 ppm threshold could still be present.  We rather defer to the FDA and EU criteria and to your own doctor’s advice.

While Schullo also processes wheat products, cross contamination is prevented or minimized by the observance of GPM (Good Manufacturing Practices).  Only cases of extreme sensitivity to traces of gluten (which the current scientific findings say are very rare) would have adverse reactions to oats.  Again, ask your doctor and try for yourself.

What is gluten sensitivity?

For some people eating certain foods can cause problems. Gluten intolerance and celiac disease (the first can be diagnosed with a simple blood test unlike the latter) are a widely-known issue for millions of people. 

The tell tales of gluten intolerance and celiac disease are similar: diarrhea, fatigue, weight loss, bloating and anemia. Before starting any gluten free diet the American College of Gastroenterology recommends taking the test at least to rule out or confirm celiac disease. Discuss this with your doctor to define appropriate management. 

Wheat allergy

Wheat allergy can have more serious effects. This condition is an allergic reaction to wheat itself or products that contain wheat. Specifically it is an allergic reaction to any of the four classes of proteins: albumin, globulin, gliadin or the gluten protein. The symptoms are irritation of the throat, rash, nasal congestion, headache, difficulty breathing, nausea or vomiting, and in severe cases anaphylaxis. See your doctor if you suspect you have this condition.

What can I eat if I am gluten sensitive?

Anything that doesn’t contain wheat is suitable for a gluten sensitive diet, namely OATS. There are great resources on the Internet for those with gluten sensitivity or Celiac disease. Check out The Mayo Clinic, WebMD and The Celiac Disease Foundation. You will find extensive information on everything gluten.

Sources

Web MD

The Mayo Clinic

Celiac Disease Foundation

American College of Gastroenterology

Back