Do oats contain gluten?
Oats are completely safe for the vast majority of celiac patients, according to the University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center www.cureceliacdisease.org
A large body of scientific evidence accumulated over more than 15 years has proven that oats are safe. Oats are not related to gluten-containing grains such as wheat, barley and rye. They don’t contain gluten, but rather proteins called avenins that are non-toxic and tolerated by most celiacs (perhaps less than 1% of celiac patients show a reaction to a large amount of oats in their diets).
Oats can be in a celiac’s diet provided they are selected from sources that guarantee a lack of contamination by wheat, rye or barley.
Some who add oats to their diet may experience GI symptoms. This may actually be a result of the increased fiber that oats provide instead of a reaction to the oats themselves.
What is Celiac Disease?
Celiac disease is an inherited immune disorder that affects the digestive process in the small intestine. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye and barley. When a person who has celiac disease consumes gluten their immune system responds by attacking the small intestine and inhibiting the absorption of important nutrients into the body.
Celaic disease affects at least 1% of Americans (nearly 3 million), in comparison with Alzheimer’s disease that affects approximately 2 million, according the University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center www.cureceliacdisease.org
For more detailed information, facts, treatment, diagnosis and genetic screening, please go to the University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center www.cureceliacdisease.org
Courtesy of University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center